Advisory & Steering Committees

Truly reflecting a broad regional and community-wide effort, the Regional Equity Study could not have been carried out without a visionary Project Steering Committee of academic and community leaders and our Community Advisory Committee made up of representatives of 21 university, philanthropic institutions from Santa Barbara and Ventura Counties.

Steering Committee

Maria Charles, UCSB Broom Center for Demography and Department of Sociology

Jon Clark, James Bower Foundation

Diane Fujino, UCSB Department of Asian American Studies

Amy Gonzales, UCSB Department of Communication

Charles R. Hale, UCSB Division of Social Sciences

LeeAnne McNulty, Allan Hancock College

Alice O’Connor, UCSB Blum Center and Department of HIstory

David Pellow, UCSB Environmental Studies Program

Marcos Vargas, The Fund for Santa Barbara

Lucas Zucker, Central Coast Alliance United for a Sustainable Economy (CAUSE)

Advisory Committee

Emily Allen, Northern Santa Barbara County United Way

Claudia Armann,
McCune Foundation

Katy Bazylewicz,
Cottage Health

Rick Cole,
The Fund for Santa Barbara

Jamshid Damooei, Cal Lutheran University Center for Economics and Social Issues

Rubayi Estes,
Santa Barbara Foundation

Geoff Green, Santa Barbara City College Foundation

James Joyce, Office of State Senator Hannah-Beth Jackson

Paul Murphy,
Allan Hancock College

Andrew Oman, California Teachers Association

Manuel Pastor, USC Equity Research Institute

Bernardo Perez, Ventura County Community College District

Erica Reyes,
Office of Rep. Salud Carbajal

Mahil Senathirajah, The Fund for Santa Barbara

Wendy Sims-Moten, First 5 Santa Barbara County

Eric Talkin,
Foodbank of Santa Barbara County

Kaia Tollefson, California State University Channel Islands

Luis Villegas,
Mechanics Bank

Nancy Weiss,
The Fund for Santa Barbara

Sigrid Wright, Community Environmental Council

Zohar Ziv, Deckers Outdoors Corporation, Retired